

Rules for election common to BOFAS Council and BOFAS committees

- 1 Positions on Council or BOFAS committees can only be fulfilled by full BOFAS members.
- In order to qualify as a candidate for election, any full member of the Society must provide a written application for hustings and be proposed and seconded by two different BOFAS members.
- 3 Any member of the Society can only apply for one vacant post.

Rules for election to BOFAS Council

- 1 The posts on Council are as indicated on the BOFAS website and within the constitution.
- 2 The duration of terms for President, President-elect and immediate past-President are each one year.
- The duration of term for Honorary Secretary and Honorary Treasurer is three years, extendable for a further three years after formal hustings and a vote from the membership at the AGM.
- 4 The duration of term for all other positions within BOFAS Council, which include the Committee Chairs, is three years.
- 5 The maximum duration of service on Council is nine years.

Rules for election to BOFAS Committees, including Chairs

1 The structure of each committee is:

Chairman

Secretary

Ordinary Member

- 2 A member is first voted onto a BOFAS committee as an ordinary member for a term of three years.
- 3 At the end of each three year term, a member may stand for re-election with a written application for hustings and be proposed and seconded by two different BOFAS members.
- 4 There will be no automatic promotion within any committee.



- Only an existing ordinary member is eligible for promotion to secretary or chair of that committee.
- 6 Promotion from ordinary membership of a committee to secretary or chair of that committee is decided by a vote from within the committee.
- 7 Appointment of the chair of a committee is ratified by the membership at the AGM.
- 8 In the event of a tie in the committee vote during a contested vote, the decision of a majority vote at Council will decide the appointment and this is subsequently ratified at the AGM.
- 9 The maximum duration of service on any committee is six years as an ordinary member or secretary or nine years including a three year term as chair of the committee.

MB Davies FRCS (Tr&Orth) Honorary Secretary March 2021